A Translation of Convenience – ‘Jeev Dangala’ from ‘Jogwa’

The following is a translation of a Marathi song from the movie ‘Jogwa’. This is a must-watch movie for every socially conscious individual. The translation is intended for those who don’t know the language … only to give you an idea about the meaning of the song when you listen to it at either of the following links. The song is rendered by Hariharan and Shreya Ghoshal, who have done much more than full justice to the composition:

Only Audio: http://topmarathi.com//files/Marathi%20Songs/Marathi%20Movie%20Songs%20-%20A%20to%20Z/JJJ/Jogva/Jiv%20Rangala%20%5BTopMarathi.Com%5D.mp3

Audio + Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CslqU1QKYxY

Here is my translation of the song:

The soul astounded, stupefied, and immersed so
In a hope of love that’s you
The soul transfixed, an overwhelming breath, gaining the yearning for you

Take me across the waters, stay on with me, the heart of me are you
My joy is in high tide, the sky touching the earth to abide
The full moon are you

The moon will bring a fragrance, the night a sighs few
The earth is yours, the germinating soil are you

The mad cloudy sky, wrapped up in tradition
My precious beloved, break the bangles of convention

My fond heart have I gifted you
At your feet I dedicate my life’s hue

DOESN’T READ AS GOOD IN TRANSLATION, BUT SANJAY KRUSHNAJI PATIL HAS WRITTEN AN AWESOME POEM IN MARATHI, MY MOTHER TONGUE.

THE JOYS OF ONE’S MOTHER TONGUE WILL NEVER BE PARALLELED BY ANY OTHER.

MR. PATIL, HEARTIEST CONGRATULATIONS!

About Nikhil Khandekar

I have been a teacher, writer, editor, translator, book lover - now ebook and audiobook lover - and a student every step of the way. I've been there and done that and never ceased to be amazed by either the natural or the man-made worlds. I am the founder of Webwrit - a unique service for sourcing top-notch web content writing, editing, and translation services. My website is www.webwrit.com. My blog is my personal attempt to serve up the very best of content in English that my younger friends, peers, and elders alike might read for the sheer pleasure of reading something straight from a familiar heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

