On Starting from Scratch – III

Taking the Plunge

Perhaps it IS important to live well – have enough resources to feed the family.

What is more important in my opinion, however, is to teach the family and others around you to live proud lives. That pride should stem from the stature of the value it can provide to the society in return for all the conveniences the society provides them.

Fortunately for me, I did not need to teach my family anything at all. They are all so well-versed in the best ways to live, I discovered they were invaluable sources of inspiration, encouragement, and support of every kind to me.

I am guessing you have a family like that as well.

My family were far less addicted to my salary than I was myself. They genuinely wanted me back home. I had travelled all over the country in my quest for that perfect job, when all I needed to do was find it within.

If I had started out on my own when I was 30, I may well have been a proud owner of an industry-leading business today. I would also have been earning significantly more than any business could ever afford to pay me. But the best thing about it is being in charge of my own destiny. And that is what it feels like now that I have given up my job.

It’s your choices that make you, so it is important to choose wisely and well. I think I have done exactly that, for now, but only time can tell. I am confident that I will not be having any regrets, at the very least.

I earn next to nothing at this time. I believe I have maybe another 15-20 odd years before I am done with the whole business of earning.

In India, my country, we have regularly had people who gave up their jobs, life’s savings, and even ancestral property to be able to serve their nation – its ethos, people, and future:

  • A certain Rajput royal maid sacrificed her own child’s life to save the baby crown prince. As assassins murdered the king,they searched for the king’s son. The nurse in charge of the prince bundled him off to safety and put her own son on the royal bed. When the assassins came and asked for the prince, she pointed at the bed. You know what happened next. She is popularly known by the name Panna Dai.
  • Gandhi dedicated a lucrative law practice and life’s savings to the service of the nation. Even after independence, he did not crave a position in the government – perhaps because he had become too big to be a part of the government, by then.
  • One of my teachers spent all his savings to promote the cause of the tribals in my country. He was a professor at the university and probably made a tidy sum. But his thinking and feeling for the underprivileged and uneducated tribals led him to initiate several educational and reformative steps for their upliftment. I am referring to Dr. Ganesh Devy.

This background is indeed a great source of inspiration for achieving great things. Every other person makes a certain amount of money one way or the other. What is important, however, is how he or she lives.

If you are going to break free of the 9-to-8 schedule, go ahead and do it. Choose to live free, independent lives in the truest senses possible.

Doing your own thing and doing it well is more important than anything else.

I have started a business called Webwrit, a website content writing, editing, and translation service. I intend to provide the best possible service to business and other organizations. I will be helping them articulate their messages to their audiences. I will be helping them create their own identity on the Internet.

I will be scripting authority for them.

Have a look at my website: www.webwrit.com. On the other hand, I also have my other website, http://khandekarsacademy.in to look after.

Khandekar’s Academy is a coaching center for students in grades 8, 9, and 10. We provide coaching in all subjects to students from both the state and the central boards of education in India. We aim to provide the very best coaching possible, nothing less.

The content writing and coaching businesses are complementary to each other in a way. The one keeps us on our toes to do justice to the other.

I have already worked with some of the best minds in India, as my LinkedIn profile will tell you. I have a national award, a few publications, and a couple decades of experience under my belt.

I am all set to take on the future.

Are you?

About Nikhil Khandekar

I have been a teacher, writer, editor, translator, book lover - now ebook and audiobook lover - and a student every step of the way. I've been there and done that and never ceased to be amazed by either the natural or the man-made worlds. I am the founder of Webwrit - a unique service for sourcing top-notch web content writing, editing, and translation services. My website is www.webwrit.com. My blog is my personal attempt to serve up the very best of content in English that my younger friends, peers, and elders alike might read for the sheer pleasure of reading something straight from a familiar heart.
Aside | This entry was posted in Human Endeavor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

